Counseling Degrees & Licenses in New Jersey

Mental Health Counseling (LMHC) Licenses in New Jersey: Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC)

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements
Professional Counselor Examiners Committee

New Jersey issues licenses for Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) and Licensed Associate Counselors (LAC).

Candidates apply for licensure prior to completing supervised work experience. They are then granted an LAC license to earn the work experience.

LAC license candidates must:

  • Complete an application
  • Graduate from a regionally accredited institution with a master’s degree or doctorate in counseling. The program must be at least 60 semester hours, 45 of which must be in eight key areas.
  • Pass the NCE
  • Pay a $75 application fee and a $90 to $180 initial licensure fee, depending on when in the biennium the application is submitted
  • Pass a criminal background check
  • Submit a Proposed Plan of Supervision

To earn an LPC license, candidates must meet the LAC requirements in addition to:

  • Completing three years and 4,500 hours of supervised work experience, two years of which must be completed post-graduate school. They must be completed within six years. If a candidate earns 30 semester hours beyond the 60 required for the master’s degree, it may substitute for one year of work experience.
  • Paying a $75 application fee and a $125 to $250 initial licensure fee, depending on when in the biennium the application is submitted

Renewals for LPC and LAC licenses in New Jersey are required in November of even-numbered years. The fee is $250 for LPCs and $180 for LACs.

Counselors are exempt from continuing education requirements in their first biennium, but every renewal cycle after that, they are required to complete 40 continuing education units.

School Counseling Licenses in New Jersey

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements
New Jersey Department of Education Office of Certification and Induction

The New Jersey Department of Education Office of Certification and Induction issues a School Counselor Standard Certificate. The requirements for this certificate are:

  • Hold a master’s degree
  • Complete at least 48 semester credits in school counseling (including a six-credit supervised counseling practicum in a school setting)
  • Submit a completed application
  • Pay $170 application fee
  • Complete the Oath of Allegiance online through the Teacher Certification Information System (TCIS)
  • Pass an examination in physiology and hygiene, including the effects of narcotics and alcohol

Standard school counselor certificates issued in New Jersey do not need to be renewed.

School counselors are expected to maintain professional standards by completing 20 hours of state-approved professional development each year.

Substance Abuse Counseling Licenses in New Jersey

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements

New Jersey Department of Law and Public Safety, Division of Consumer Affairs, State Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners’ Alcohol and Drug Counselor Committee

The New Jersey Department of Law and Public Safety, Division of Consumer Affairs, State Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners’ Alcohol and Drug Counselor Committee issues Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC) certifications and Licensed Clinical Alcohol and Drug Counselor (LCADC) licenses.

CADC certification candidates must:

  • Complete two years and 3,000 hours of supervised work experience which includes 300 hours of supervised practical training
  • Complete 270 hours of alcohol and drug education
  • Attend and document 30 self-help meetings, including at least five AA meetings, five NA meetings, and five ALANON meetings.
  • Pass an oral exam on a written case prepared by the applicant
  • Pass an ADC written exam from IC&RC
  • Submit a signed and notarized application
  • Submit two passport-sized photos
  • Submit a Proposed Plan of Supervised
  • Pay $75 application fee
  • Have a high school diploma or GED

LCACD applicants must meet the same requirements as CADCs, as well as:

  • Complete a master’s degree from an accredited institution with at least 18 semester hours in counseling or related subjects

LCADC licenses and CADC certifications issued in New Jersey are valid for two years and expire on July 31 of even-numbered years. Renewal fees are $180 for CADC and $250 for LCADC.

CADCs are required to complete 60 continuing education hours per renewal period while LCADCs are only required to complete 40 hours.

Rehabilitation Counseling Licenses in New Jersey

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements

Professional Counselor Examiners Committee

Rehabilitation counselors in New Jersey must be either Licensed Professional Counselors (LPC) or Licensed Associate Counselors (LAC).

Candidates apply for licensure prior to completing supervised work experience. They are then granted an LAC license to earn the work experience.

LAC license candidates must:

  • Complete an application
  • Graduate from a regionally accredited institution with a master’s degree or doctorate in counseling. The program must be at least 60 semester hours, 45 of which must be in eight key areas.
  • Pass the NCE
  • Pay a $75 application fee and a $90 to $180 initial licensure fee, depending on when in the biennium the application is submitted
  • Pass a criminal background check
  • Submit a Proposed Plan of Supervision

To earn an LPC license, candidates must meet the LAC requirements in addition to:

  • Completing three years and 4,500 hours of supervised work experience, two years of which must be completed post-graduate school. They must be completed within six years. If a candidate earns 30 semester hours beyond the 60 required for the master’s degree, it may substitute for one year of work experience.
  • Paying a $75 application fee and a $125 to $250 initial licensure fee, depending on when in the biennium the application is submitted

Renewals for LPC and LAC licenses in New Jersey are required in November of even-numbered years. The fee is $250 for LPCs and $180 for LACs.

Counselors are exempt from continuing education requirements in their first biennium, but every renewal cycle after that, they are required to complete 40 continuing education units.

Applied Behavioral Analysis (ABA) Licenses in New Jersey

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements
State Board of Applied Behavior Analyst Examiners

In 2020, the Behavior Analyst Licensing Act became law in New Jersey. This law establishes a State Board of Applied Behavior Analyst Examiners that will license behavior analysts. This board has yet to be appointed.

However, according to the law, requirements for licensure will include:

  • Holding BCBA or BCaBA certification is a requirement
  • Being 21 years old
  • Being of good moral character
  • Providing proof of supervision (if the applicant holds a BCaBA)

To maintain licensure, behavior analysts in New Jersey will need to renew their licenses every two years. They will need to pay a fee (TBD) and provide proof of current BCBA and BCaBA certification.

Marriage and Family Therapy Licenses in New Jersey

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements
State Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners

The New Jersey State Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners credentials Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists (LMFT) and Associate Marriage and Family Therapists (AMFT).

Requirements for an AMFT license are:

  • Submit a completed application
  • Include a recent 2×2-inch photo
  • Pay $75 application fee
  • Be at least 21 years old
  • Have a master’s degree in marriage and family therapy from a regionally accredited institution that meets coursework requirements and includes a two-semester internship or practicum
  • Submit a plan for supervision and include the supervisor’s resume or CV
  • Pass a criminal background check
  • Pay an initial license fee of $90 to $180

Candidates for an LMFT license must meet associate license requirements, as well as:

  • Pass the AMFTRB exam
  • Complete two years of supervised work experience as a marriage and family therapist, with a minimum of 50 hours of supervision per year at a rate of one hour per week (a maximum of 1,150 hours of client contact and 300 hours of other work experience to be completed per year)
  • Pay an initial license fee of $125 to $250

Renewals for marriage and family therapy licenses in New Jersey are required every two years. Associate licenses cost $180 to renew and full LMFT licenses cost $250.

Associate license holders must complete 20 hours of continuing education per renewal and full LMFTs must complete 40 hours.

Child (Pediatric) Behavioral Therapy Licenses in New Jersey

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements

Professional Counselor Examiners Committee

Child therapists in New Jersey must be either Licensed Professional Counselors (LPC) or Licensed Associate Counselors (LAC).

Candidates apply for licensure prior to completing supervised work experience. They are then granted an LAC license to earn the work experience.

LAC license candidates must:

  • Complete an application
  • Graduate from a regionally accredited institution with a master’s degree or doctorate in counseling. The program must be at least 60 semester hours, 45 of which must be in eight key areas.
  • Pass the NCE
  • Pay a $75 application fee and a $90 to $180 initial licensure fee, depending on when in the biennium the application is submitted
  • Pass a criminal background check
  • Submit a Proposed Plan of Supervision

To earn an LPC license, candidates must meet the LAC requirements in addition to:

  • Completing three years and 4,500 hours of supervised work experience, two years of which must be completed post-graduate school. They must be completed within six years. If a candidate earns 30 semester hours beyond the 60 required for the master’s degree, it may substitute for one year of work experience.
  • Paying a $75 application fee and a $125 to $250 initial licensure fee, depending on when in the biennium the application is submitted

Renewals for LPC and LAC licenses in New Jersey are required in November of even-numbered years. The fee is $250 for LPCs and $180 for LACs.

Counselors are exempt from continuing education requirements in their first biennium, but every renewal cycle after that, they are required to complete 40 continuing education units.