Counseling Degrees & Licenses in Delaware

In Delaware, counseling degrees and licenses are overseen by the Delaware Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals. This board issues licenses to professional mental health counselors, associate mental health counselors, chemical dependency professionals, marriage and family therapists, and associate marriage and family therapists. They also recognize art therapists and associate art therapists. 

Delaware has reciprocity with other states and the District of Columbia. Those who have been licensed at least five years in any jurisdiction (state) may be licensed by reciprocity with no further documentation needed. Those who have been licensed less than five years in a jurisdiction must submit copies of the licensing laws and regulations from each jurisdiction where the license is held. The board will review the licensing standards of the other jurisdictions and determine if they are substantially similar to Delaware’s standards.

Delaware is the second-smallest state in the country. Nonetheless, mental health care is in demand in this state. According to a 2021 report from the United Health Foundation, mental distress increased in Delaware by 62 percent, from 13 to 21.1 percent, in women aged 18 to 44 between the years of 2013-2014 and 2018-2019. 

According to Resource to Recover, close to 3.7 percent of adults in Delaware live with serious mental health conditions such as schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, and major depression. Only 47.9 percent of those adults with mental illness in Delaware receive any form of treatment. The remaining 52.1 percent receive no mental health treatment. According to Mental Health America, Delaware is ranked eighth out of 50 states and Washington D.C. for providing access to mental health services.

There is an increased demand everywhere for licensed counselors. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2021), forecasts that careers in counseling fields will grow 23 percent nationally from 2020 to 2030, much faster than the average for all occupations. The need for counselors, in general, will grow as a growing population seeks mental health counseling. Demand for rehabilitation counselors is expected to grow at a rate of 10 percent. On the other hand, the job outlook for marriage and family therapists is expected to grow at a rate of 16 percent. 

Overall, students who pursue counseling degrees and licenses in Delaware can find rewarding and stable careers. Read on for accredited schools offering programs for counseling degrees and licenses in Delaware.

35.170.82.159--VA<-->=Any---->Any--T1==couns--Select `wp_cs_sb_school_data`.*, `wp_cs_sb_program_details`.* FROM `wp_cs_sb_school_data` JOIN `wp_cs_sb_program_details` ON `wp_cs_sb_school_data`.s_id = `wp_cs_sb_program_details`.s_id WHERE ( `wp_cs_sb_program_details`.p_concentration_name = 'couns' OR `wp_cs_sb_program_details`.p_concentration_name like '%,couns,%' OR `wp_cs_sb_program_details`.p_concentration_name like 'couns,%' OR `wp_cs_sb_program_details`.p_concentration_name like '%,couns' ) AND ( `wp_cs_sb_program_details`.p_restricted_states <> 'VA' AND `wp_cs_sb_program_details`.p_restricted_states NOT LIKE '%,VA,%' AND `wp_cs_sb_program_details`.p_restricted_states NOT LIKE 'VA,%' AND `wp_cs_sb_program_details`.p_restricted_states NOT LIKE '%,VA' ) AND `wp_cs_sb_school_data`.s_active = 'Yes'AND `wp_cs_sb_program_details`.p_active = 'yes' ORDER BY CASE `wp_cs_sb_school_data`.s_green_state WHEN `wp_cs_sb_school_data`.s_green_state LIKE '%VA%' THEN 1 END, CASE WHEN `wp_cs_sb_program_details`.p_concentration_name LIKE '%couns%' THEN 1 END, CASE `wp_cs_sb_school_data`.s_id WHEN 19 THEN 1 WHEN 51 THEN 2 WHEN 48 THEN 3 WHEN 37 THEN 4 WHEN 50 THEN 5 WHEN 14 THEN 6 WHEN 6 THEN 7 WHEN 2 THEN 8 WHEN 8 THEN 9 WHEN 31 THEN 10 WHEN 52 THEN 11 WHEN 34 THEN 12 WHEN 5 THEN 13 WHEN 41 THEN 14 WHEN 47 THEN 15 WHEN 32 THEN 16 WHEN 33 THEN 17 WHEN 30 THEN 18 WHEN 40 THEN 19 WHEN 53 THEN 20 WHEN 9 THEN 21 WHEN 43 THEN 22 WHEN 29 THEN 23 WHEN 45 THEN 24 WHEN 46 THEN 25 WHEN 42 THEN 26 WHEN 49 THEN 27 WHEN 39 THEN 28 WHEN 20 THEN 29 WHEN 38 THEN 30 WHEN 4 THEN 31 WHEN 7 THEN 32 WHEN 10 THEN 33 WHEN 12 THEN 34 WHEN 13 THEN 35 WHEN 17 THEN 36 WHEN 18 THEN 37 WHEN 21 THEN 38 WHEN 35 THEN 39 WHEN 44 THEN 40 WHEN 36 THEN 41 WHEN 11 THEN 42 WHEN 15 THEN 43 WHEN 16 THEN 44 WHEN 3 THEN 45 WHEN 1 THEN 46 WHEN 28 THEN 47 ELSE 99 END ASC, `wp_cs_sb_program_details`.p_name
Featured Counseling Programs
Wake Forest University Online MA - Clinical Mental Health CounselingVisit Site
Wake Forest University Online MA - School CounselingVisit Site
Bradley University MAC - Clinical Mental Health CounselingVisit Site
Bradley University MAC - Professional School CounselingVisit Site
Lamar University M.Ed. - Clinical Mental Health CounselingVisit Site
Lamar University M.Ed. - Counseling & Development - Marriage, Couple & Family CounselingVisit Site
University of North Dakota Online MA in Counseling - Addiction CounselingVisit Site
University of North Dakota Online MA in Counseling - Community Mental Health CounselingVisit Site
Southern New Hampshire University Online BA in Psychology - AddictionsVisit Site
Southern New Hampshire University Online BA in Psychology - Mental HealthVisit Site
Sponsored
×

THANK YOU FOR YOUR INTEREST IN Southern New Hampshire University Online MS - Construction Management

Accredited Counseling Degree Programs in Delaware

Wilmington University

Wilmington University is a private university founded in 1968. The school, known as WilmU, offers most programs at its main campus but also has six additional campuses in Delaware, several locations in New Jersey, and a location in northeastern Maryland. 

The College of Education offers a master of education in elementary and secondary school counseling. WilmU’s school counseling degree program fulfills Delaware State Department of Education requirements. In fact, nine of the last ten Delaware School Counselors of the Year have been WilmU graduates.

Graduates of the certification track are eligible for state licensure as a school counselors in public, private, or charter schools. The program’s non-certification track is designed for those who wish to work with children or youth in non-school settings that do not require state licensure. Students who graduate from the non-certification track can find careers at state or nonprofit agencies, mental health settings, group homes, a. 

The school’s master of science in clinical mental health counseling is the only Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs-accredited (CACREP) program of its kind in the region. After completing the program, students will be eligible to take the National Counselor Examination administered by the National Board of Certified Counselors and may then begin to work toward becoming a Licensed Professional Counselor of Mental Health (LPCMH) in Delaware. 

  • Location: New Castle, Delaware
  • Duration: The clinical mental health counseling program is 60 credits; school counseling is 51 credits
  • Accreditation: The clinical mental health counseling program is accredited by CACREP
  • Tuition: $500 per credit

Goldey-Beacom College

Goldey–Beacom College is a private college with a 24-acre campus. It was founded in 1886. The school offers a master of arts in counseling psychology, which prepares students to become licensed professional counselors. Additional counseling hours beyond the practicum conducted in the program are also required to earn a license.

  • Location: Pike Creek Valley, Delaware
  • Duration: 60 credits
  • Accreditation: Middle States Commission on Higher Education
  • Tuition: Contact the school for a customized assessment

How Much Do Counselors Make in Delaware?

These numbers represent data from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics from May 2020—the latest data available as of January 2022.

Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors

United StatesDelaware
Number employed292,2301,130
Average annual salary (mean)$61,000$67,530
10th percentile$34,380$40,570
50th percentile (median)$57,040$68,390
90th percentile$96,090$98,920

Rehabilitation Counselors

United StatesDelaware
Number employed100,260310
Average annual salary (mean)$40,160$36,180
10th percentile$23,820$26,080
50th percentile (median)$39,950$34,900
90th percentile$63,790$50,310

Substance Abuse, Behavioral Disorder, and Mental Health Counselors

United StatesDelaware
Number employed293,620590
Average annual salary (mean)$49,950$48,560
10th percentile$29,520$32,020
50th percentile (median)$46,240$45,990
90th percentile$76,080$68,930

Counseling Professional Associations & Resources in Delaware

  • The Delaware School Counselor Association
  • The Mental Health Association in Delaware
  • Delaware Psychological Association
  • American Counseling Association – Delaware Branch
  • Delaware CORE (Community Outreach, Referral, and Early Intervention)
  • Delaware Occupational Therapy Association
  • Art Therapy in Delaware
  • Survivors of Abuse in Recovery
  • Jewish Family Services of Delaware
  • Delaware Psychological Services
  • Family Services Association in Delaware

Mental Health Counseling (LMHC) Licenses in Delaware: Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC)

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements
Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals

There are two professional counselor licenses issued in Delaware: a Licensed Associate Counselor of Mental Health (LACMH) and the Licensed Professional Counselor of Mental Health (LPCMH).

Associate counselors are required to submit the following:

  • Signed and notarized application
  • $236 fee
  • Completed Criminal History Record Check Authorization for the FBI and the State of Delaware including fingerprints
  • Passing NCE or NCMHCE exam scores
  • Official transcripts from a regionally accredited institution demonstrating a master’s degree in clinical mental health or the equivalency with a completed evaluation of coursework form
  • A planned direct supervision form from an approved supervisor
  • Either 30 hours of post master’s graduate counseling coursework or the planned professional counseling experience form for counseling experience (not under direct supervision)

To transition from a LACMH to an LPCMH, candidates must meet all of the above requirements, as well as submit:

  • Signed and notarized application
  • $236 fee
  • Completed Criminal History Record Check Authorization for the FBI and the State of Delaware including fingerprints
  • Proof of 1,600 hours of direct supervision verified by a Direct Supervision Reference form completed by an approved supervisor
  • Either proof of 30 hours of post master’s graduate counseling coursework or 1,600 of work experience (not under direct supervision). Hours are verified by the Counseling Experience Verification-Employment form if working for an employer or Counseling Experience Verification-Self-Employment (if self-employed)

Also, candidates must complete all hours in more than two years but less than four.

In Delaware, licenses are renewed biennially in September of even years. To renew applicants must:

  • Complete the online application
  • Pay renewal fee
  • Complete 40 continuing education hours

School Counseling Licenses in Delaware

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements
Delaware Department of Education

The Delaware Department of Education requires school counselors to be licensed teachers and earn either the Elementary School Counselor Standard Certificate or the Secondary School Counselor Standard Certificate.

The requirements for an initial teaching license with an elementary school counselor endorsement are:

  • Have a master’s degree in elementary school counseling from a regionally accredited institution (the program must have at least 39 credits in school counseling specific coursework)
  • Complete 700 hours of supervised work experience as an elementary school counselor
  • Pass the Praxis Professional School Counselor exam with a score of 156 or higher
  • Submit a completed application
  • Pay $100 application fee

Secondary School Counselors must meet the same requirements, except the work experience must be completed in a secondary school.

The first renewal in Delaware is required four years after initial licensure and will advance the license from an initial license to a continuing one.

For this application, candidates must:

  • Complete the Comprehensive Induction Program
  • Be employed by a Delaware public or charter school
  • Have no more than one unsatisfactory performance evaluation

Continuing licenses must be renewed every five years. To renew, candidates must complete 90 hours of continuing education and submit an online application

Substance Abuse Counseling Licenses in Delaware

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements

Division of Professional Regulation

Delaware Certification Board

National Certification Commission for Addiction Professionals

The Division of Professional Regulation requires applicants to be certified with either the Delaware Certification Board or NAADAC. In addition to providing proof of either certification, candidates must submit an application, proof of education and clinical hours, and pay a $252 licensing fee.


To earn an NAADAC certification in either National Certified Addiction Counselor (NCAC) or Master Addiction Counselor (MAC), candidates must submit:

  • A high school diploma or GED
  • A current credential or license as a Substance Use Disorders/Addiction Counselor or Professional Counselor
  • 270 hours of education and training in substance abuse disorders or addiction counseling
  • Passing score on the ADC exam from IC&RC or NCAC Level I exam through NCC AP (MACs must pass the MAC exam)
  • $235 application fee

In order to earn the Delaware Certification Board Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor Certification, candidates must:

  • Pass the ADC exam from the IC&RC
  • Hold a bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution that is recognized by the US Department of Education or the Council on Higher Education Accreditation
  • Be currently employed as a substance abuse counselor with have two years of full-time employment history as a substance abuse counselor or 4,000 hours (200 hours must be in supervision with a minimum of 10 hours in each domain)
  • Supply a current job description
  • Have 300 hours of education relevant to the field of substance use disorders
  • Pay $350 application fee

Candidates for the more advanced Chemical Dependency Professional Licensure must:

  • Complete, sign, and notarize the Application for Chemical Dependency Professional Licensure
  • Pay the $350 fee
  • Hold one of two following certifications: the Delaware Certification Board Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor certification or the NAADAC NCAC or MAC certification
  • Send official transcript verifying a master’s degree with at least 30 semester hours in counseling
  • Complete the Counseling Experience Verification, showing 3,200 hours of substance abuse counseling experience
  • Submit one or more Supervision References to verify 1,600 hours of supervised counseling
The Division of Professional Regulation requires applicants to be certified with either the Delaware Certification Board or NAADAC. These agencies have different renewal requirements.

Licenses issued by the Division of Professional Regulation expire biennially on September 30th of even-numbered. Renewals cost $235 and must be accompanied by 40 hours of continuing education.


Delaware Certification Board certification renewals expire every two years. Renewals cost $150 and must be accompanied by 40 hours of continuing education relevant to substance abuse, including three hours in ethics.

NCAC and MAC renewals are due every two years. To renew, candidates must provide evidence of current state credentials, 40 hours of continuing education hours, two years of work history, and a signed statement of having read the code of ethics. It costs $200.

Rehabilitation Counseling Licenses in Delaware

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements

Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals

Rehabilitation counselors in Delaware must earn one of two professional counselor licenses: a Licensed Associate Counselor of Mental Health (LACMH) and the Licensed Professional Counselor of Mental Health (LPCMH).

Associate counselors are required to submit the following:

  • Signed and notarized application
  • $236 fee
  • Completed Criminal History Record Check Authorization for the FBI and the State of Delaware including fingerprints
  • Passing NCE or NCMHCE exam scores
  • Official transcripts from a regionally accredited institution demonstrating a master’s degree in clinical mental health or the equivalency with a completed evaluation of coursework form
  • A planned direct supervision form from an approved supervisor
  • Either 30 hours of post master’s graduate counseling coursework or the planned professional counseling experience form for counseling experience (not under direct supervision)

To transition from a LACMH to an LPCMH, candidates must meet all of the above requirements, as well as submit:

  • Signed and notarized application
  • $236 fee
  • Completed Criminal History Record Check Authorization for the FBI and the State of Delaware including fingerprints
  • Proof of 1,600 hours of direct supervision verified by a Direct Supervision Reference form completed by an approved supervisor
  • Either proof of 30 hours of post master’s graduate counseling coursework or 1,600 of work experience (not under direct supervision). Hours are verified by the Counseling Experience Verification-Employment form if working for an employer or Counseling Experience Verification-Self-Employment (if self-employed)

Also, candidates must complete all hours in more than two years but less than four.

In Delaware, licenses are renewed biennially in September of even years. To renew applicants must:

  • Complete the online application
  • Pay renewal fee
  • Complete 40 continuing education hours

Applied Behavioral Analysis (ABA) Licenses in Delaware

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements
Behavior Analyst Certification Board (BACB) for national certification

Currently, there are no state certification or licensing requirements for applied behavior analysts in Delaware.

However, the 2102 Autism Service Providers’ law stipulates that in order for ABA therapy to be reimbursable by insurance, it must be provided by a BCBA-certified provider.

Those providing ABA therapy in Delaware and want to bill insurance will need to maintain a national BCBA certification and meet those continuing education standards.

Marriage and Family Therapy Licenses in Delaware

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements
Delaware Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals

The Delaware Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals issues Marital and Family Therapist Associate and Marital and Family Therapist licenses.

Candidates for a Marital and Family Therapist Associate license must:

  • Sign and notarize an application
  • Pay $236 fee
  • Complete a Criminal History Record Check Authorization for the FBI and the State of Delaware, including fingerprints
  • Send official transcripts from a COAMFTE (or regionally) accredited institution demonstrating a master’s degree in marriage and family therapy, with a completed evaluation of coursework form
  • Have an approved supervisor complete the planned direct supervision form

Marital and Family Therapist license applicants must meet all the requirements for an associate license, as well as:

  • Sign and notarize an application
  • Pay a $236 fee
  • Pass the AMFTRB exam
  • Complete Criminal History Record Check Authorization for the FBI and the State of Delaware including fingerprints
  • Complete 1,600 hours of direct supervision verified by a Direct Supervision Reference form completed by an approved supervisor; 100 hours must be direct supervision
  • Complete 1,600 hours of work experience not under direct supervision.
  • Complete all hours in more than two years (but less than four)

In Delaware, MFT licenses are renewed biennially in September of even-numbered years.

To renew, applicants must:

  • Complete the online application
  • Pay renewal fee
  • Complete 40 continuing education hours.

Associate license holders are not required to complete continuing education hours.

Child (Pediatric) Behavioral Therapy Licenses in Delaware

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements
Board of Mental Health and Chemical Dependency Professionals

Child therapists in Delaware must earn one of two professional counselor licenses: a Licensed Associate Counselor of Mental Health (LACMH) and the Licensed Professional Counselor of Mental Health (LPCMH).

Associate counselors are required to submit the following:

  • Signed and notarized application
  • $236 fee
  • Completed Criminal History Record Check Authorization for the FBI and the State of Delaware including fingerprints
  • Passing NCE or NCMHCE exam scores
  • Official transcripts from a regionally accredited institution demonstrating a master’s degree in clinical mental health or the equivalency with a completed evaluation of coursework form
  • A planned direct supervision form from an approved supervisor
  • Either 30 hours of post master’s graduate counseling coursework or the planned professional counseling experience form for counseling experience (not under direct supervision)

To transition from a LACMH to an LPCMH, candidates must meet all of the above requirements, as well as submit:

  • Signed and notarized application
  • $236 fee
  • Completed Criminal History Record Check Authorization for the FBI and the State of Delaware including fingerprints
  • Proof of 1,600 hours of direct supervision verified by a Direct Supervision Reference form completed by an approved supervisor
  • Either proof of 30 hours of post master’s graduate counseling coursework or 1,600 of work experience (not under direct supervision). Hours are verified by the Counseling Experience Verification-Employment form if working for an employer or Counseling Experience Verification-Self-Employment (if self-employed)

Also, candidates must complete all hours in more than two years but less than four.

In Delaware, licenses are renewed biennially in September of even years. To renew applicants must:

  • Complete the online application
  • Pay renewal fee
  • Complete 40 continuing education hours
Vanessa Salvia

Vanessa Salvia

Writer

Vanessa Salvia is an Oregon-based freelance writer and editor with a bachelor’s degree in chemistry. As fun as rigorous studies in math and science were, Vanessa took an independent path and developed a prolific career covering lifestyle and healthcare topics for magazines and newspapers, important industries such as concrete construction and building waterproofing, and even hard science. You can get in touch at Sage Media and Marketing.