Counseling Degrees & Licenses in Ohio

Mental Health Counseling (LMHC) Licenses in Ohio: Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC)

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements
Ohio Counselor, Social Worker, and Marriage & Family Therapist Board

There are three mental health counselor licenses issued in Ohio:

  • Counselor Trainee (CT)
  • Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC)
  • Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor (LPCC)

A CT license is awarded to students who are completing a practicum or internship. To apply for this license, a candidate must:

  • Provide proof of enrolment in a master’s or doctoral level practicum or internship
  • Complete an online application
  • Complete a background check

To earn an LPC license, candidates must:

  • Pass the NCE exam
  • Submit official transcripts demonstrating graduation from a CACREP accredited master’s program
  • Complete a background check
  • Complete an online application
  • Watch the Laws and Rules online video

To earn an LPCC license, candidates must meet LPC requirements in addition to:

  • Passing the NCMHCE exam
  • Completing two full years of supervised work experience with a minimum of 1,500 hours per year. The experience must include diagnosis and treatment of mental and emotional disorders.

Ohio requires LPCs and LPCCs to renew their licenses every two years.

The requirements to renew include:

  • An online application,
  • An $83.50 fee for LPCs or $103.50 for LPCC
  • 30 hours of continuing education to an online system; three of those hours must be in ethics

School Counseling Licenses in Ohio

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements
Ohio Department of Education

The Ohio Department of Education issues Pupil Services Licenses to school counselors. The requirements for this license are:

  • Pass the Ohio Assessments for Educators School Counselor exam
  • Complete a BCI/FBI background check
  • Have a master’s degree (preferably from an in-state approved program) that included a 600-hour school counselor internship
  • Submit a completed application
  • Pay $200 application fee

Those who have completed an out-of-state degree will need to provide additional documentation, such as a recommendation from the dean.

Pupil Services Licenses for school counselors are valid for five years.

To renew, school counselors must submit an application and pay a $200 renewal fee. Continuing education requirements for school counselors are six semester hours of coursework, or 18 continuing education units (180 hours). Other activities may be approved by the Local Professional Development Committee.

Please note that proof of current licensure from the Ohio Counselor, Social Worker, and Marriage and Family Therapist Board waives continuing education requirements.

Substance Abuse Counseling Licenses in Ohio

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements

Ohio Chemical Dependency Professionals Board (OCDP)

Licenses and certifications issued by the Ohio Chemical Dependency Professionals Board (OCDP) include Chemical Dependency Counselor Assistant (CDCA), Licensed Chemical Dependency Counselor (LCDCII, LCDCIII) and Licensed Independent Chemical Dependency Counselor (LICDC).

Preliminary CDCA certificate candidates must:

  • Be 18 years old
  • Sign an agreement to practice according to the ethics code set by the board
  • Complete 40 hours of approved chemical dependency coursework within the past two years
  • Complete an online application
  • Pay $50 application fee

To earn the renewable CDCA, candidates must:

  • Hold the preliminary CDCA certificate for ten months or more
  • Complete an additional 30 hours of chemical dependency coursework
  • Complete an online application
  • Pay $35 conversion fee

LCDCII license candidates must:

  • Have an associate’s degree in behavioral health, a nursing degree or a bachelor’s degree in an unrelated field
  • Submit a completed application
  • Pay $50 application fee
  • Complete 2,000 hours of supervised work experience
  • Provide job descriptions for positions held during the supervised work experience signed by the supervisor
  • Complete 180 hours of education and training in substance abuse in nine specific content areas
  • Complete 200 hours of practical training in the 12 core function areas, which can be part of the supervised work experience
  • Pass the ADC exam from the IC&RC

LCDCIII license applicants must meet the above requirements and must have a bachelor’s degree.

LICDC license applicants must also meet the same requirements and must have a master’s degree.

Substance abuse counselor certificate and license holders in Ohio must renew every two years. They must submit an online application and pay a $150 renewal fee.

Every renewal cycle, counselors must complete 40 hours of continuing education. Six hours must be in chemical dependency and three hours must be in ethics.

Rehabilitation Counseling Licenses in Ohio

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements

Ohio Counselor, Social Worker, and Marriage & Family Therapist Board

There are three mental health counselor licenses rehabilitation counselors can earn in Ohio:

  • Counselor Trainee (CT)
  • Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC)
  • Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor (LPCC)

A CT license is awarded to students who are completing a practicum or internship. To apply for this license, a candidate must:

  • Provide proof of enrolment in a master’s or doctoral level practicum or internship
  • Complete an online application
  • Complete a background check

To earn an LPC license, candidates must:

  • Pass the NCE exam
  • Submit official transcripts demonstrating graduation from a CACREP accredited master’s program
  • Complete a background check
  • Complete an online application
  • Watch the Laws and Rules online video

To earn an LPCC license, candidates must meet LPC requirements in addition to:

  • Passing the NCMHCE exam
  • Completing two full years of supervised work experience with a minimum of 1,500 hours per year. The experience must include diagnosis and treatment of mental and emotional disorders.

Ohio requires LPCs and LPCCs to renew their licenses every two years.

The requirements to renew include:

  • An online application,
  • An $83.50 fee for LPCs or $103.50 for LPCC
  • 30 hours of continuing education to an online system; three of those hours must be in ethics

Applied Behavioral Analysis (ABA) Licenses in Ohio

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements
Ohio Board of Psychology

The Ohio Board of Psychology licenses Certified Ohio Behavior Analysts. The requirements include:

  • Submit a completed application
  • Hold a BCBA certification
  • Provide three recommendations
  • Complete a Pre-Certification Workshop Law and Rules course
  • Pay $125 application fee
  • Pass a criminal records check

Certified Ohio Behavior Analysts licenses must be renewed biennially. The cost to renew is $150.

Renewal applications must be accompanied by proof of continued BCBA certification. Current BCBA certification meets all Ohio continuing education requirements.

Marriage and Family Therapy Licenses in Ohio

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements
Ohio Counselor, Social Worker, and Marriage & Family Therapist Board

The Ohio Counselor, Social Worker, and Marriage & Family Therapist Board credentials Licensed Independent Marriage and Family Therapists (LIMFT) and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists (LMFT).

LMFT license requirements are:

  • Pass the NCE exam
  • Submit official transcripts demonstrating graduation from a COAMFTE-accredited master’s program (or a regionally accredited program that meets coursework requirements)
  • Pass the AMFTRB exam
  • Pay $80 application fee
  • Complete a background check
  • Complete an online application
  • Watch the Laws and Rules online video

To earn an LIMFT license, candidates must meet LMFT requirements, in addition to:

  • Paying $100 application fee
  • Completing two full years of supervised work experience, with 1,000 hours of direct client contact and 200 hours of supervision (of which 100 hours must be individual supervision)

Ohio requires LIMFTs and LMFTs to renew their licenses every two years.

The requirements to renew include:

  • An online application,
  • A $83.50 fee for LMFTs or $103.50 for LIMFTs
  • 30 hours of continuing education (three of those hours must be in ethics)

Child (Pediatric) Behavioral Therapy Licenses in Ohio

Licensing AuthorityEligibility & DetailsRenewal Requirements

Ohio Counselor, Social Worker, and Marriage & Family Therapist Board

There are three mental health counselor licenses child therapists can earn in Ohio:

  • Counselor Trainee (CT)
  • Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC)
  • Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor (LPCC)

A CT license is awarded to students who are completing a practicum or internship. To apply for this license, a candidate must:

  • Provide proof of enrolment in a master’s or doctoral level practicum or internship
  • Complete an online application
  • Complete a background check

To earn an LPC license, candidates must:

  • Pass the NCE exam
  • Submit official transcripts demonstrating graduation from a CACREP accredited master’s program
  • Complete a background check
  • Complete an online application
  • Watch the Laws and Rules online video

To earn an LPCC license, candidates must meet LPC requirements in addition to:

  • Passing the NCMHCE exam
  • Completing two full years of supervised work experience with a minimum of 1,500 hours per year. The experience must include diagnosis and treatment of mental and emotional disorders.

Ohio requires LPCs and LPCCs to renew their licenses every two years.

The requirements to renew include:

  • An online application,
  • An $83.50 fee for LPCs or $103.50 for LPCC
  • 30 hours of continuing education to an online system; three of those hours must be in ethics