The College of New Jersey Clinical Mental Health Counseling Programs

The College of New Jersey offers two online clinical mental health counseling programs through its School of Graduate, Global, and Online Education and Online Counselor Education department. Students can choose the 60-credit master of arts in clinical mental health counseling or the 15-credit post-master’s certificate in clinical mental health counseling. Both programs are designed for working professionals and are taught by faculty with current experience in the mental health counseling field.

Both programs use online learning supported by interactive technology, virtual classrooms, multimedia resources, simulated counseling sessions, case studies, and collaborative tools. Courses include a 90-minute synchronous class each week, although some asynchronous options are available for occasional absences. The programs also emphasize practical preparation in ethics, diagnosis, treatment planning, addiction counseling, trauma-informed care, and clinical mental health practice.

The online MA in clinical mental health counseling can be completed in two years of full-time study or up to six years of part-time study. Students complete a 100-hour practicum with at least 40 hours of direct service, followed by two 300-hour internships with at least 120 direct hours in each internship. The curriculum includes counseling theories and techniques; multicultural counseling; psychopathology and psychopharmacology; assessment and diagnostic processes; and case conceptualization and treatment planning. Students also complete in-person skills assessments at two points in the program and a 10-hour group counseling experience.

The MA program includes three start dates each year and allows full-time students to take two classes during each accelerated session. Through the Registered Apprenticeship Program (RAP) approved by the U.S. Department of Labor, eligible students may integrate employment with their education and complete paid practicum and internship experiences. 

Graduates can work in hospitals, community mental health agencies, substance use treatment centers, schools, private practices, telehealth settings, and colleges. The program prepares students to sit for the National Counselor Exam and apply for Licensed Associate Counselor (LAC) licensure, which is the first step toward the Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC) credential.

The online post-master’s certificate in clinical mental health counseling includes 15 credits and can be completed in as few as three months on a full-time basis. It is designed for counseling master’s graduates who need additional credits to reach the 60 credits required for clinical mental health counseling licensure. The certificate may also benefit current school counselors seeking additional graduate credits. Courses include psychopathology and psychopharmacology; ethical and legal issues in counseling; case conceptualization and treatment planning; addiction counseling; and trauma and crisis counseling.

Admission requirements differ between the two programs. Applicants to the MA program must hold a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution and submit official transcripts from all post-secondary institutions, a current resume, a statement of interest, and two letters of recommendation from faculty members or employers. Applicants must also complete a synchronous group interview. GRE scores are not required. Applicants to the post-master’s certificate must hold a master’s degree in counseling from an accredited or approved institution and submit official transcripts from all post-secondary institutions and a current resume or curriculum vitae.

The College of New Jersey is a public university located in Ewing Township, New Jersey, and is part of New Jersey’s public system of higher education. The university is accredited by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE). The online MA in clinical mental health counseling curriculum is aligned with the 2024 CACREP standards. The institution plans to apply for CACREP accreditation when the first cohort reaches the internship stage.

The College of New Jersey

Counseling Programs

MA in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Post-Master's Certificate in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Campus Address

2000 Pennington Rd
Ewing Township, New Jersey

The College of New Jersey MA in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Program Essentials

Degree Level

Master's Degree

Area of Study

Counseling: Clinical Mental Health Counseling

100% Online?

No

Campus Visits Required

2 – Two in-person residencies required

Credits Required

60

Program Start Dates

Fall, Spring, Summer

Duration

Complete in as few as 2 years full-time or up to 6 years part-time

Program Admissions

GRE Required?

No GRE required

GPA Required?

Not specified

State Restrictions ( Will not accept from…)

No state restrictions

Program Tuition

Credits Required

60

Avg. Cost-per-Credit ( State Resident )

$714.00

Est. Total Tuition ( State Resident )

$42,840.00

Avg. Cost-per-Credit ( Non-Resident )

$714.00

Est. Total Tuition ( Non-Resident )

$42,840.00

The College of New Jersey Post-Master's Certificate in Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Program Essentials

Degree Level

Post-Master's Certificate

Area of Study

Counseling: Clinical Mental Health Counseling

100% Online?

Yes

Campus Visits Required

0 – No required campus visits

Credits Required

15

Program Start Dates

Fall, Spring, Summer

Duration

Complete in as few as 3 months

Program Admissions

GRE Required?

No GRE required

GPA Required?

Not specified

State Restrictions ( Will not accept from…)

No state restrictions

Program Tuition

Credits Required

15

Avg. Cost-per-Credit ( State Resident )

$714.00

Est. Total Tuition ( State Resident )

$10,710.00

Avg. Cost-per-Credit ( Non-Resident )

$714.00

Est. Total Tuition ( Non-Resident )

$10,710.00

Tuition is calculated based on credits, at the published tuition rate. Rates may change, so please check here for the latest tuition information. For programs with variable tuition rates, we use the rates for part-time students. “Resident” and “non-resident” refer to the student’s school-recognized state residency status. Tuition number represents the cost of tuition for the entire program, not per semester or year. Estimated total tuition does not include additional fees.

Farheen Gani

Farheen Gani

Writer

Farheen Gani has researched degree programs and salaries in counseling since 2020. She has written about topics such as genetic counselor salaries and family and human development bachelor’s degrees. She writes about healthcare, technology, education, and marketing. Her work has appeared on websites such as Tech in Asia and Foundr, as well as top SaaS blogs such as Zapier and InVision. You can connect with her on LinkedIn.

Counseling Schools
Privacy Overview

Sechel Ventures Partners, LLC is committed to the privacy of its website visitors. This website sets no first-party cookies, and significantly limits third-party cookies (see "3rd Party Cookies" for details).

We set cookies only to store the cookie settings you select here, and to ensure useful content and a fast, unobtrusive experience. Cookies are stored in your browser.

When you click on a sponsored (advertising partner) link, you will leave this website for another. Its cookie policy may differ.