UC San Diego (UCSD) Online Counseling Graduate Certificates

The University of California San Diego offers two online counseling graduate certificate programs through UC San Diego Extended Studies: the college counseling specialized certificate and the professional certificate in substance use disorder counseling. The college counseling certificate can be completed online in six to nine months, while the substance use disorder counseling certificate is available online or live online and typically takes 18 months.

The college counseling specialized certificate focuses on the college application process and helping students and families manage the transition to college. The program includes three courses that must be completed in a specific order: principles of college counseling; college counseling strategies; and college counseling practicum.

The professional certificate in substance use disorder counseling provides coursework and training for individuals who want to enter or advance in the substance use disorder counseling field. Important courses include addiction and recovery: etiology and physiology; addiction science: psychology and pharmacology; substance use disorder treatment and recovery; and law and ethics for addiction professionals. Students must complete 33 quarter units, including 13 required courses and a practicum.

Admission requirements differ between the two certificate programs. Applicants to the college counseling certificate must have a bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited institution. They must provide verification showing the degree awarded and the date it was awarded through an official letter from the school or an official sealed transcript. The substance use disorder counseling certificate does not require academic prerequisites beyond a high school diploma or equivalent. Applicants must complete the application and pay the application fee.

The University of California San Diego is a public land-grant research university located in the La Jolla neighborhood of San Diego, California. The university is fully accredited by the WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC). The substance use disorder counseling certificate also provides educational preparation connected to the requirements of the California Consortium of Addiction Programs and Professionals (CCAPP) and the California Association for Drug and Alcohol Programs and Therapists.

University of California San Diego

Counseling Programs

College Counseling Specialized Certificate
Professional Certificate in Substance Use Disorder Counseling

Campus Address

9500 Gilman Dr
La Jolla, California

University of California San Diego College Counseling Specialized Certificate

Program Essentials

Degree Level

Post-Bachelor's Certificate

Area of Study

Counseling: School Counseling

100% Online?

Yes

Campus Visits Required

0 – No required campus visits

Credits Required

12

Program Start Dates

Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter

Duration

Complete in as few as 6-9 months

Program Admissions

GRE Required?

No GRE required

GPA Required?

Not specified

State Restrictions ( Will not accept from…)

AL, AR, CT, DE, DC, GA, IN, KS, MI, MN, MS, MO, NJ, NY, NC, ND, OK, OR, PA, PR, RI, VA, WY

Program Tuition

Credits Required

12

Avg. Cost-per-Credit ( State Resident )

cost is by course

Est. Total Tuition ( State Resident )

$1,570.00

Avg. Cost-per-Credit ( Non-Resident )

cost is by course

Est. Total Tuition ( Non-Resident )

$1,570.00

University of California San Diego Professional Certificate in Substance Use Disorder Counseling

Program Essentials

Degree Level

Post-Bachelor's Certificate

Area of Study

Counseling: Substance Abuse & Addiction

100% Online?

Yes

Campus Visits Required

0 – No required campus visits

Credits Required

33

Program Start Dates

Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter

Duration

Complete in as few as 18 months

Program Admissions

GRE Required?

No GRE required

GPA Required?

Not specified

State Restrictions ( Will not accept from…)

AL, AR, CT, DE, DC, GA, IN, KS, MI, MN, MS, MO, NJ, NY, NC, ND, OK, OR, PA, PR, RI, VA, WY

Program Tuition

Credits Required

33

Avg. Cost-per-Credit ( State Resident )

cost is by course

Est. Total Tuition ( State Resident )

$6,000.00

Avg. Cost-per-Credit ( Non-Resident )

cost is by course

Est. Total Tuition ( Non-Resident )

$6,000.00

Tuition is calculated based on credits, at the published tuition rate. Rates may change, so please check here for the latest tuition information. For programs with variable tuition rates, we use the rates for part-time students. “Resident” and “non-resident” refer to the student’s school-recognized state residency status. Tuition number represents the cost of tuition for the entire program, not per semester or year. Estimated total tuition does not include additional fees.

Farheen Gani

Farheen Gani

Writer

Farheen Gani has researched degree programs and salaries in counseling since 2020. She has written about topics such as genetic counselor salaries and family and human development bachelor’s degrees. She writes about healthcare, technology, education, and marketing. Her work has appeared on websites such as Tech in Asia and Foundr, as well as top SaaS blogs such as Zapier and InVision. You can connect with her on LinkedIn.

Counseling Schools
Privacy Overview

Sechel Ventures Partners, LLC is committed to the privacy of its website visitors. This website sets no first-party cookies, and significantly limits third-party cookies (see "3rd Party Cookies" for details).

We set cookies only to store the cookie settings you select here, and to ensure useful content and a fast, unobtrusive experience. Cookies are stored in your browser.

When you click on a sponsored (advertising partner) link, you will leave this website for another. Its cookie policy may differ.