Thomas University (Georgia) Online Master’s in Counseling

Thomas University offers a fully online master of science in counseling with four specializations: addictions counseling, clinical mental health counseling, clinical rehabilitation counseling, and professional school counseling. All four specializations require 60 credits, including a 45-credit counseling core and 15 credits in the chosen specialty. Students complete online coursework and can arrange clinical fieldwork in their local area. Pursuing more than one specialization requires additional coursework and clinical hours.

The addictions counseling specialization focuses on counseling people affected by addiction and related mental health concerns. The clinical mental health counseling specialization prepares students for counseling practice in mental health settings. The clinical rehabilitation counseling specialization focuses on supporting people with disabilities and chronic illnesses. Finally, the professional school counseling specialization prepares students to work with children and families in school settings.

The core curriculum includes courses such as substance abuse counseling methods; crisis and trauma counseling; theories and techniques of group counseling; and foundations and techniques of counseling, among others. All students complete a 100-hour practicum, two 300-hour internships, and a counseling capstone.

Notably, Thomas University also offers an online bridge program for people who already hold a graduate degree in counseling but need additional credits or specific coursework to meet licensure requirements in their state. Students can take courses such as psychopathology and diagnosis; human growth and development; or crisis and trauma counseling. Bridge courses are asynchronous, allowing working professionals to study on their own schedules.

Admission requirements are the same for all four specializations. Applicants must submit an application, a resume, a statement of purpose of no more than two pages, three letters of recommendation, and an official transcript from the institution that awarded their bachelor’s degree, along with transcripts of any graduate work. Admissions are offered before the spring, summer, and fall semesters.

Thomas University is a private university in Thomasville, Georgia. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). Its master of science in counseling program, including all four specializations, is accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP).

Thomas University

Counseling Programs

MS in Counseling – Addictions Counseling
MS in Counseling – Clinical Mental Health Counseling
MS in Counseling – Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling
MS in Counseling – Professional School Counseling

Campus Address

1501 Millpond Road
Thomasville, Georgia

Thomas University MS in Counseling – Addictions Counseling

Program Essentials

Degree Level

Master's Degree

Area of Study

Counseling: Substance Abuse & Addiction

100% Online?

Yes

Campus Visits Required

0 – No required campus visits

Credits Required

60

Program Start Dates

Spring, Summer, Fall

Duration

Complete in as few as 7 semesters full-time or 10 semesters part-time

Program Admissions

GRE Required?

No GRE required

GPA Required?

Not specified

State Restrictions ( Will not accept from…)

No state restrictions

Program Tuition

Credits Required

60

Avg. Cost-per-Credit ( State Resident )

$635.00

Est. Total Tuition ( State Resident )

$38,100.00

Avg. Cost-per-Credit ( Non-Resident )

$635.00

Est. Total Tuition ( Non-Resident )

$38,100.00

Thomas University MS in Counseling – Clinical Mental Health Counseling

Program Essentials

Degree Level

Master's Degree

Area of Study

Counseling: Clinical Mental Health Counseling

100% Online?

Yes

Campus Visits Required

0 – No required campus visits

Credits Required

60

Program Start Dates

Spring, Summer, Fall

Duration

Complete in as few as 7 semesters full-time or 10 semesters part-time

Program Admissions

GRE Required?

No GRE required

GPA Required?

Not specified

State Restrictions ( Will not accept from…)

No state restrictions

Program Tuition

Credits Required

60

Avg. Cost-per-Credit ( State Resident )

$635.00

Est. Total Tuition ( State Resident )

$38,100.00

Avg. Cost-per-Credit ( Non-Resident )

$635.00

Est. Total Tuition ( Non-Resident )

$38,100.00

Thomas University MS in Counseling – Clinical Rehabilitation Counseling

Program Essentials

Degree Level

Master's Degree

Area of Study

Counseling: Rehabilitation Counseling

100% Online?

Yes

Campus Visits Required

0 – No required campus visits

Credits Required

60

Program Start Dates

Spring, Summer, Fall

Duration

Complete in as few as 7 semesters full-time or 10 semesters part-time

Program Admissions

GRE Required?

No GRE required

GPA Required?

Not specified

State Restrictions ( Will not accept from…)

No state restrictions

Program Tuition

Credits Required

60

Avg. Cost-per-Credit ( State Resident )

$635.00

Est. Total Tuition ( State Resident )

$38,100.00

Avg. Cost-per-Credit ( Non-Resident )

$635.00

Est. Total Tuition ( Non-Resident )

$38,100.00

Thomas University MS in Counseling – Professional School Counseling

Program Essentials

Degree Level

Master's Degree

Area of Study

Counseling: School Counseling

100% Online?

Yes

Campus Visits Required

0 – No required campus visits

Credits Required

60

Program Start Dates

Spring, Summer, Fall

Duration

Complete in as few as 7 semesters full-time or 10 semesters part-time

Program Admissions

GRE Required?

No GRE required

GPA Required?

Not specified

State Restrictions ( Will not accept from…)

No state restrictions

Program Tuition

Credits Required

60

Avg. Cost-per-Credit ( State Resident )

$635.00

Est. Total Tuition ( State Resident )

$38,100.00

Avg. Cost-per-Credit ( Non-Resident )

$635.00

Est. Total Tuition ( Non-Resident )

$38,100.00

Tuition is calculated based on credits, at the published tuition rate. Rates may change, so please check here for the latest tuition information. For programs with variable tuition rates, we use the rates for part-time students. “Resident” and “non-resident” refer to the student’s school-recognized state residency status. Tuition number represents the cost of tuition for the entire program, not per semester or year. Estimated total tuition does not include additional fees.

Farheen Gani

Farheen Gani

Writer

Farheen Gani has researched degree programs and salaries in counseling since 2020. She has written about topics such as genetic counselor salaries and family and human development bachelor’s degrees. She writes about healthcare, technology, education, and marketing. Her work has appeared on websites such as Tech in Asia and Foundr, as well as top SaaS blogs such as Zapier and InVision. You can connect with her on LinkedIn.

Counseling Schools
Privacy Overview

Sechel Ventures Partners, LLC is committed to the privacy of its website visitors. This website sets no first-party cookies, and significantly limits third-party cookies (see "3rd Party Cookies" for details).

We set cookies only to store the cookie settings you select here, and to ensure useful content and a fast, unobtrusive experience. Cookies are stored in your browser.

When you click on a sponsored (advertising partner) link, you will leave this website for another. Its cookie policy may differ.