Troy University Online Counseling Programs (Alabama)
- Ed.S. in Counseling (General)
- Ed.S. in School Counseling
- MS in Counseling – Clinical Mental Health Counseling
- MS in Counseling – Rehabilitation Counseling
- MSEd in School Counseling
- Post-Master's Certificate in Addictions Counseling
- Post-Master's Certificate in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
- Post-Master's Certificate in Counseling Military Populations
- Post-Master's Certificate in Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health Counseling
- Post-Master's Certificate in Rehabilitation and Deaf/Hard-of-Hearing Studies
Troy University offers online counseling programs for students and practicing professionals seeking preparation in clinical mental health counseling, rehabilitation counseling, school counseling, addictions, military populations, infant and early childhood mental health, and deaf or hard-of-hearing studies. The programs covered here include the EdS in counseling, EdS in school counseling, MS in counseling with clinical mental health counseling, MS in counseling with rehabilitation counseling, MSEd in school counseling, and five post-master’s certificate options.
Troy’s counseling programs are designed for working professionals through a combination of synchronous and asynchronous online learning. The master’s programs require two three-day in-person residencies, where students develop clinical skills, strengthen professional identity, receive faculty guidance, and practice counseling techniques. Clinical programs also include practicum or internship experiences under professional supervision.
The EdS in counseling is a 30-credit post-master’s program for students who already hold a 30-credit master’s degree in counseling. It is a non-certification program that includes courses such as crisis response management; advanced practicum in group leadership; advanced theories and techniques of counseling; and cognitive and behavioral interventions. Students also complete a field project and approved electives.
The EdS in school counseling is a 30-credit certification program that prepares students for advanced school counseling roles with students from preschool through grade 12. Important courses include teaching students with emotional and social needs; advanced practicum in group leadership; cognitive and behavioral interventions; and legal issues and ethics in education. Graduates may pursue roles such as school counseling supervisor, director, curriculum or policy director, researcher, or school counseling professor.
The 60-credit MS in counseling with a clinical mental health counseling focus prepares students to address mental health concerns in agency and clinical settings. Important courses include group dynamics and counseling; diagnosis and treatment planning; crisis response management; and marriage, family, and sex therapy counseling.
The 60-credit MS in counseling with a rehabilitation counseling focus prepares students to help people with disabilities reach employment, independence, and community participation goals. Important courses include medical and psychosocial aspects of disability; rehabilitation delivery and process; job development and placement; and case management. Notably, students in this program also choose a six-credit concentration in clinical rehabilitation; public and community rehabilitation; counseling military populations; or addictions counseling.
The 60-credit MSEd in school counseling prepares students to work with students in kindergarten through grade 12. The program includes courses such as school counseling and program management; current trends in school counseling; interventions for children and adolescents; and crisis response management.
Troy University also offers five post-master’s counseling certificates for professionals who already hold relevant graduate degrees. The graduate certificate in addictions counseling requires 15 credits and focuses on substance abuse assessment, treatment, and recovery. The post-master’s certificate in clinical mental health counseling provides advanced preparation in mental health assessment, diagnosis, and treatment planning.
The post-master’s certificate in counseling military populations prepares counselors to work with service members and their families. The rehabilitation and deaf or hard-of-hearing studies certificate develops skills in deaf culture, advocacy, case management, and rehabilitation counseling. The post-master’s infant and early childhood mental health counseling certificate requires 15 credits and prepares professionals to support infants, young children, and their families, including through a 400-hour internship.
Admission requirements vary by program. Graduate applicants generally need a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited university with a minimum 2.5 undergraduate GPA or a 3.0 GPA over the last 30 semester hours, along with an entrance exam score and an official recommendation letter. EdS applicants must hold a master’s degree in counseling, while school counseling applicants must meet the required certification, professional experience, GPA, background check, and fingerprinting requirements. Post-master’s certificate applicants generally need a relevant master’s degree, official transcripts, professional recommendations, and a letter of intent, resume, or admission interview, depending on the certificate.
Troy University is a public university in Troy, Alabama, founded in 1887. It is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC). The MS in clinical mental health counseling and MS in rehabilitation counseling are accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP). The MSEd in school counseling is accredited by both the CACREP and the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP).
When you click on a sponsoring school or program advertised on our site, or fill out a form to request information from a sponsoring school, we may earn a commission. View our advertising disclosure for more details.
Ed.S. in Counseling (General)
Ed.S. in School Counseling
MS in Counseling – Clinical Mental Health Counseling
MS in Counseling – Rehabilitation Counseling
MSEd in School Counseling
Post-Master's Certificate in Addictions Counseling
Post-Master's Certificate in Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Post-Master's Certificate in Counseling Military Populations
Post-Master's Certificate in Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health Counseling
Post-Master's Certificate in Rehabilitation and Deaf/Hard-of-Hearing Studies
600 University AveTroy, Alabama
Program Essentials
Doctoral Degree
Counseling: Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Yes
0 – No required campus visits
30
January, March, May, August, October
Complete in as few as 1.5 years full-time or 2-2.5 years part-time
Program Admissions
No GRE required
Not specified
CA
Program Tuition
30
$475.00
$14,250.00
$475.00
$14,250.00
Program Essentials
Doctoral Degree
Counseling: School Counseling
Yes
0 – No required campus visits
30
January, March, May, August, October
Complete in as few as 1.5 years full-time or 2-2.5 years part-time
Program Admissions
No GRE required
Not specified
CA
Program Tuition
30
$475.00
$14,250.00
$475.00
$14,250.00
Program Essentials
Master's Degree
Counseling: Clinical Mental Health Counseling
No
2 – Two three-day in-person residencies during the program required
60
January, March, May, August, October
Complete in as few as 2-3 years
Program Admissions
No GRE required
2.5
CA
Program Tuition
60
$475.00
$28,500.00
$475.00
$28,500.00
Program Essentials
Master's Degree
Counseling: Rehabilitation Counseling
No
2 – Two three-day in-person residencies during the program required
60
January, March, May, August, October
Complete in as few as 2-3 years
Program Admissions
No GRE required
2.5
CA
Program Tuition
60
$475.00
$28,500.00
$475.00
$28,500.00
Program Essentials
Master's Degree
Counseling: School Counseling
No
2 – Two three-day in-person residencies during the program required
60
January, March, May, August, October
Complete in as few as 2-3 years
Program Admissions
No GRE required
2.5
CA
Program Tuition
60
$475.00
$28,500.00
$475.00
$28,500.00
Program Essentials
Post-Master's Certificate
Counseling: Substance Abuse & Addiction
Yes
0 – No required campus visits
15
January, March, May, August, October
Complete in as few as 15 months
Program Admissions
No GRE required
Not specified
CA
Program Tuition
15
$475.00
$7,125.00
$475.00
$7,125.00
Program Essentials
Post-Master's Certificate
Counseling: Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Yes
0 – No required campus visits
18
January, March, May, August, October
Complete in as few as 1 year full-time or 1.5+ years part-time
Program Admissions
No GRE required
Not specified
CA
Program Tuition
18
$475.00
$8,550.00
$475.00
$8,550.00
Program Essentials
Post-Master's Certificate
Counseling: Clinical Mental Health Counseling
Yes
0 – No required campus visits
15
January, March, May, August, October
Complete in as few as 15 months
Program Admissions
No GRE required
Not specified
CA
Program Tuition
15
$475.00
$7,125.00
$475.00
$7,125.00
Program Essentials
Post-Master's Certificate
Counseling: Clinical Mental Health Counseling
No
2 – Two face-to-face eight-hour day intensives required
15
January, March, May, August, October
Complete in as few as 1 year
Program Admissions
No GRE required
Not specified
CA
Program Tuition
15
$475.00
$7,125.00
$475.00
$7,125.00
Program Essentials
Post-Master's Certificate
Counseling: Rehabilitation Counseling
Yes
0 – No required campus visits
15
January, March, May, August, October
Complete in as few as 1 year
Program Admissions
No GRE required
Not specified
CA
Program Tuition
15
$475.00
$7,125.00
$475.00
$7,125.00
Tuition is calculated based on credits, at the published tuition rate. Rates may change, so please check here for the latest tuition information. For programs with variable tuition rates, we use the rates for part-time students. “Resident” and “non-resident” refer to the student’s school-recognized state residency status. Tuition number represents the cost of tuition for the entire program, not per semester or year. Estimated total tuition does not include additional fees.